Baby-Friendly’s Ginsu Knife

Remember Ginsu knives? They popularized infomercials and could “cut through a nail, tin can, radiator hose and still cut a tomato paper thin.” What really made Ginsu knives famous was their infomercial mantra, “But wait!  There’s more!”

Baby-Friendly has its own “But wait!  There’s more!” There are the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding, but tacked onto the end is the International Code of Marketing Breastmilk Substitutes, sometimes simply referred to as “The Code.”

The Code was adopted in 1981 by the World Health Assembly to help countries where formula companies’ marketing tactics were harming babies.

There will always be a place for formula in hospitals. A few women will choose to formula feed, and a few babies will need formula supplements for medical reasons. However, using a product and participating in the marketing of a product are two very different agendas.

A Tale of Two Drugs

Let’s consider an analogy. What if there were two similar drugs used to treat a disease.  We’ll call one Mediwrks and the other Medikindawrks. Now we know just from the names that one is superior to the other, and in fact research has demonstrated over and over again that Mediwrks is more effective and patients have fewer side effects. Most people choose Mediwrks and agree it is best. There are a few that prefer Medikindawrks and a small minority for whom Medikindawrks is more effective. That’s why it is still on the market.

Knowing its deficiencies and wanting to gain a larger market share, several decades ago Medikindawrks set out on a mass campaign to increase brand loyalty. They sponsored conferences for physicians and nurses where their sales reps had opportunities to share all the benefits of their drug. The sales reps also visited the doctors’ offices and hospitals where they would bring meals and give out what many thought were fun, harmless items.

The most genius Medikindawrks tactic was that they marketed to consumers in a way that made it appear doctors and nurses favored their product. The clicker pens and name badge holders used and worn by the nurses were strengthening their branding efforts, but that was just the beginning. They also sent materials to consumers saying things like, “Ask your doctor which Medikindawrks product is best for you.” And since Medikindawrks reps had spoken with doctors in their offices, hospitals and conferences, the doctors had the answers when consumers asked.

When patients were hospitalized, Medikindawrks was often used because the manufacturer gave it to the hospital for free. Every other product, drug and food was purchased by the hospital. Many thought this was a gesture of goodwill, but company leaders knew that if their product was given to a patient in the hospital, the patient would be more likely to use it once at home. Since Medikindawrks was only used by a minority of patients, the company began sending every patient home with a gift which included some useful items, product literature and some free samples.

The marketing campaign worked. Not only did Medikindawrks gain more market share, but the entire culture changed. People started to doubt Mediwrks despite the science behind it. Consumers came to expect their Medikindawrks gifts at the hospital and nurses couldn’t imagine sending patients home without it. Instead of wholeheartedly advocating what was best for the vast majority of patients, medical experts came to see the decision between the two products as the patient’s choice.

I’m grateful for Medikindawrks, for the babies who truly need it and for the families who have their own personal reasons to use it, but I don’t want any part in promoting it. I will have it available for those who need it and will continue to have a good working relationship with the sales reps who respectfully do a good job making their product available to us at a fair market price.

Our self assessment for the International Code of Marketing Breast Milk Substitutes:

11.1  Are all breast milk substitutes, including special infant formula, that are used in the facility purchased in the same way as any other foods or medicines? No

11.2  Do the facility and staff refuse free or low-cost supplies of breast milk substitutes?  No

11.3  Are all promotional materials for breast milk substitutes, bottles and pacifiers absent from the facility with no materials displayed or distributed to pregnant women or mothers?  No

11.4  Are employees of manufacturers or distributors of breast milk of substitutes, bottles and pacifiers prohibited from an contact with pregnant women or mothers? Yes

11.5  Does the facility refuse free gifts, non-scientific literature, materials or equipment, money or support for in-service education or events from manufacturers or distributors of products within the scope of the Code? No

11.6  Does the facility keep infant formula cans and pre-prepared bottles of formula out of view unless in use? No

11.7  Does the facility refrain from giving pregnant women , mothers and their families any marketing materials, samples or gift packs that include breast milk substitutes, bottles and pacifiers or other equipment or coupons covered by the Code? No

11.8  Do staff members understand why it is important not to give any free samples or promotional materials from manufacturers or distributors of breast milk substitutes, bottles and pacifiers? No

About blogtobabyfriendly

blogtobabyfriendly is written by Amy Murray, a Childbirth Unit nurse with a touch of earth muffin crunch. A childbirth educator and IBCLC, she's been a breastfeeding advocate all her adult life, believing that if our bodies make milk, it just makes good sense to feed it to our babies. blogtobabyfriendly is her hospital's journey to Baby-Friendly designation. Click to get email updates on new blog posts. Our desire is to learn, share, and learn more.
This entry was posted in Our Self-Assessment Tool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baby-Friendly’s Ginsu Knife

  1. Sarah McK says:

    I was given a diaper bag labeled with a formula brand, plus coupons and samples, at Memorial hospital in February, 2009. I cut the label off, gave away the coupons and samples. I couldn’t believe they encouraged that kind of propaganda!!

  2. Breeana says:

    I find this really interesting, and I’m sure this step won’t be easy to get rid of because it comes with a price tag. Back in January of 2009 when I had my first daughter, I was given the diaper bag with the formula samples and kept the formula samples “just in case” breastfeeding didn’t work out. It seemed logical enough to me at the time, and I’m sure I am not alone in this thinking. I was scared into thinking by those around me that my milk would dry up, and I wouldn’t be able to do it. She was my first baby and I was intimidated by how “hard” people around me made breastfeeding out to be. So the formula sat unopened in my cupboard for a year collecting dust until I finally decided to throw it away. It was my crutch and security blanket. I will say that it was very tempting to use it once I went back to work and had to work so hard to get enough milk for the next day’s feedings. I’m sure that that is what these companies want. I, too, thought that if it was good enough for the hospital to give to me, that it is good enough for my baby and would have chosen that brand given to me over the others simply for this reason. I was happy to get the free diaper bag though because who doesn’t love free stuff. This company got me. I’m glad that I was stubborn and didn’t give in to giving her the formula sitting up in my cupboard so easily.
    Then with the birth of my next daughter in February of 2012, I was hooked on breastfeeding and really found a passion for it after breastfeeding my first daughter successfully. I started following this wonderful blog by Amy and was excited to hear that Memorial was taking steps in becoming a “baby-friendly” hospital. I was really excited about delivering here. I knew that I wanted to breastfeed successfully from the start and was determined no matter what obstacles came in my way. I was really curious and excited to see this in action while I was in the hospital. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they are no longer giving away the diaper bags from the formula company filled with formula samples. Hooray! It was interesting though to get a “gift” from the same formula company to help with breastfeeding. I admittedly was excited about getting the breastmilk storage bottles, freezer bags, and cooler, though, because I really would use those things while breastfeeding. It was interesting that it was still sponsored by a formula company making it seem that even though the hospital supports breastfeeding, if breastfeeding doesn’t work out, then it appears that the hospital is endorsing that formula company. That was a little disappointing. I don’t miss the free sample sitting in my cupboard at all and now I have the support group on Mondays and Thursdays to go to or lactation consultants to call if I have a problem, need encouragement, or want to talk with other moms going through the same thing. I know that this support was available (to an extent) three years ago, but I definitely feel more encouraged this time around to check out the support after being discharged from the hospital. The formula is no longer my crutch.
    I know that the formula companies are giving these items to the hospital for free or a low-cost, but are there products out there that could be given to new moms from companies that are more supportive of breastfeeding or don’t sell breastmilk substitutes? Would Medela or another company like Medela give products like this to promote breastfeeding? Is there any bylaw that says the hospital even has to give a “gift” to new moms? I, personally, really liked the time capsule of sorts that my daughter got this time with the newspaper from the day of her birth inside. I think that would be enough of a gift. I hope that new moms are open to this as well and everyone can see the value of not giving these gifts away anymore.

  3. Kathy Mason says:

    Amy I love your analogy! It’s priceless!

  4. Jenna Fischer says:

    Great post! I’m glad that you are working towards getting rid of the formula company propaganda. When I had my second son I gave away the formula and used the bag to store my breast pump!

Leave a Reply

